Coverart for item
The Resource The girl they left behind, Roxanne Veletzos

The girl they left behind, Roxanne Veletzos

Label
The girl they left behind
Title
The girl they left behind
Statement of responsibility
Roxanne Veletzos
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key. When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, she must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past
Summary
On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny
Tone
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10736886
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Veletzos, Roxanne
Dewey number
813/.6
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3622.E437
LC item number
S63 2018
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Family life
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Hungary
Target audience
adult
Label
The girl they left behind, Roxanne Veletzos
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
21558203
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
353 pages
Isbn
9781501187681
Lccn
2018005009
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(DLC)BK0022186670
Label
The girl they left behind, Roxanne Veletzos
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
21558203
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
353 pages
Isbn
9781501187681
Lccn
2018005009
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(DLC)BK0022186670

Library Locations

    • LaGrange County Public LibraryBorrow it
      203 W. Spring St., LaGrange, IN, 46761, US
      41.64383 -85.41937

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...